English ελληνική έκδοση    rss feed


On 1 August 2005, the new Plenary of the Hellenic Telecommunications & Post Commission was formed, the members of which are:

Pursuant to an Act of the Ministerial Council:

  • Mr. Nikitas Alexandridis, Professor of the Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science of the George Washington University, as President,
  • Mr. Nikolaos Koulouris, Attorney at Law, as Vice-President for the Electronic Communications sector, and
  • Mr. Thodoris Dravillas, a Licensed Electrical Engineer of the National Technical University of Athens, as Vice-President for the Postal Services sector.

Pursuant to a Decision of the Minister of Transportation and Communications:

  • Mr. Michael Sakkas, Mechanical Electrical Engineer, as a Member,
  • Mr. Panagiotis Tsanakas, Professor of the National Technical University of Athens, as a Member,
  • Mr. George Tsaprounis, Attorney at Law, as a Member,
  • Mr. Panagiotis Kottis, Professor of the National Technical University of Athens, as a Member,
  • Mr. Ioannis Paleologos, Associate Professor of the University of Piraeus, as a Member,
  • Mr. Alkiviades-Konstantinos Psarras, Attorney at Law, as a Member

According to a statement made by Mr. Alexandridis “Our primary goal is to promote digital communication and Internet applications in the 21st century to the benefit of consumers, securing access to high quality services to all citizens, even to those who live in very remote regions. The Hellenic Telecommunications & Post Commission will contribute to the further development of the telecommunications and postal services market, to the generation of new investments and to the development of broadband services in terms of availability, quality and price, with respect to the consumer. We will carry out our work with transparency, impartiality and efficiency, in compliance with the regulatory framework and, concurrently, we will work together with all involved organisations in order to achieve the best possible result for the market and, primarily, for citizens.”