Home Page
›› Contact us
The Conference
›› Program
›› Gallery
›› Registration Form
›› Media
›› Speakers Info
›› Speeches
›› Videos
›› Accommodation
Venue Info
How to get there
Useful links

Add to favorites
Send this page by e-mail
Print this page


8th EETT International Conference

Regulation towards a Smart Digital Ecosystem

16 & 17 May 2013
Athens, Greece

Thursday, 16 May 2013

09:00–09:30 Registration


Welcome Speech
Dr. Leonidas Kanellos, EETT President & BEREC Chair

Opening Address
Mr. Stavros Kalogiannis, Deputy Minister of Development & Infrastructures


Session 1: Challenges and opportunities for a “next generation” postal ecosystem
This session will address the transformation of postal markets and the role of operators in the competitive landscape. Representatives from the European Commission, regulators, postal incumbents and new entrants will exchange views and experiences toward a sustainable development of the postal sector in Europe.

Roundtable discussion:
  • Mr. Ulrich Dammann, Chairman, European Committee for Postal Regulation (CERP)
  • Mr. Ilias Pantazis, Head of Telecommunications and Postal Services, Ministry of Development & Infrastructures
  • Mr. Kostis Melachroinos, Chairman & CEO, Hellenic Post
  • Mr. Konstantinos Menegakis, Operations Director, ACS Courier
  • Mr. Christos Apostolou, Director of Postal Services, EETT

    Moderator: Professor Ioannis Tzionas, EETT Member 

  • 11:30–12:00

    Coffee Break


    Session 2: Digital innovation for innovative and consumer-friendly postal services
    This session will discuss the interaction of the postal sector with the ever widening markets of communication, advertising and e-commerce, while complying with high policy objectives on universal service and quality standards for national and cross-border services.

  • Mrs. Anastasia Tsalta, Executive, Postal Services Directorate, EETT
    “The Greek postal market: Data and trends, 2012”

  • Roundtable discussion:
  • Mr. Herbert Götz, Director Marketing, International Post Corporation (IPC)
  • Professor George Doukidis, Director, ELTRUN
  • Mr. Nikos Goulis, President, Greek e-Commerce Association (GRECA)
  • Mr. Pavlos Kamilos, Marketing Director, Hellenic Post
  • Mr. Christos Diskos, ICS Manager, TNT Express
  • Mr. Panagiotis Chytas, Commercial Manager, Courier Center

  • Moderator: Mr. Christos Apostolou, Director of Postal Services, EETT  




    Session 3: Convergence of fixed and mobile services for a competitive communications’ market
    This session will discuss the dynamics of the Greek broadband market, the role of regulation, consumer demand and investment. Market players will exchange views on the impact of fixed-wireless integration for market growth and revenue generation for national operators.

    Roundtable discussion:
  • Mr. Zacharias Piperidis, COO, OTE Group
  • Mr. Christos Limnatitis, CEO, CYTA Hellas
  • Mr. Yannis Kavaklis, Chief Strategy & Business Development Officer, Forthnet Group
  • Mr. Antonis Kerastaris, CEO, Hellas On Line
  • Mr. Themistoklis Giannakopoulos, Regulatory Counsel & Corporate Security, Vodafone Greece
  • Mr. Antonis Tzortzakakis, Chief Commercial Officer, WIND Hellas

    Moderator: Mr. Michalis Sakkas, EETT Vice President 

  • Friday, 17 May 2013




    Opening Addresses
  • Mr. Menelaos Daskalakis, General Secretary of Telecommunications & Post, Ministry of Development & Infrastructures
  • Dr. Leonidas Kanellos, EETT President & BEREC Chair
    “The future is here: A new era for regulation”
  • Dr. Hamadoun Touré, Secretary General, International Telecommunication Union (ITU) (video)

  • 10:15–11:45

    Session 4: Europe at the forefront of the digital economy
    During this session representatives from the European Commission, BEREC, regulators and operators will debate the strategic impact of the European Commission’s Draft Recommendation on non-discrimination and costing methodologies for the successful NGA roll-out across Europe.

  • Mrs. Carlota Reyners - Fontana, Member of the Cabinet of Vice-President N. Kroes, European Commission
    “The EU Draft Recommendation on non-discrimination and costing methodologies”
  • Dr. Iris Henseler-Unger, Vice President, BNetzA
    “The BEREC Opinion on the EU Draft Recommendation”

  • Roundtable discussion:
  • Mr. Luigi Gambardella, Chairman, European Telecommunications Network Operators (ETNO)
  • Mrs. Erzsébet Fitori, Director, European Competitive Telecommunications Association (ECTA)
  • Mr. Roland Doll, Vice President European Affairs, Deutsche Telecom
  • Ms. Lisa Di Feliciantonio, Head of Regulatory & EU Policy, Fastweb
  • Mr. Peter Alexiadis, Partner, Gibson, Dunn & Crutcher

    Moderator: Mr. George Papapavlou, EETT Member 

  • 11:45–12:15

    Coffee Break


    Session 5: Spectrum and network optimization for seamless content delivery
    This session will focus on spectrum refarming, network performance and the emerging prospects for the audiovisual industry and the mobile broadband ecosystem. Speakers will discuss potential ways to amortize spectrum investments to develop innovative NGA services to serve the ever-increasing demand for more data and higher speeds for consumers on the move.

    Keynote Speaker:
    Mr. Randall Stephenson, Chairman & CEO, AT&T (video)
    “The Mobile revolution and its market impact: A leading US operator’s perspective”

  • Mr. Crisphine Ogongo, Assistant Manager in charge of Telecommunication Licensing, Communications Commission of Kenya
    “Building mobile communication societies in Kenya”
  • Mr. Markus Reinisch, Public Policy Director, Vodafone Group
    “Deploying mobile broadband to bridge the digital divide”
  • Dr. Robert Pepper, Vice President, Global Technology Policy, Cisco
    “Is your network ready to deliver high quality broadband?”
  • Dr. Panos Karaminas, Director of Telecommunications, EETT
    “HYPERION: Consumer-centric measurement of broadband performance”
  • Dr. Ulrich Stumpf, Director, WIK-Consult GmbH
    “Spectrum auctions for competitive market entry in Europe”

    Moderator: Dr. Tassos Lyratzis, Director of Spectrum, EETT 

  • 13:45–14:45



    Session 6: Understanding consumer behavior in the new multi-screen media world
    This session will discuss the impact of the multi-screen media world (smart phones, tablets, digital television) on interactive media consumption, access to pay TV and on demand services.

  • Ms. Lisa Di Feliciantonio, Head of Regulatory & EU Policy, Fastweb
    “Regulatory challenges to the development of video on demand in Europe”

  • Roundtable discussion:
  • Mr. Karim Antonio Lesina,Vice President, AT&T
  • Mr. George Mathios, CEO, Digea SA
  • Ms. Katerina Kaskanioti, Chief Platform & Content Officer, Forthnet Group
  • Mr. Alexander Koronakis, Director, “New Europe”
  • Mr. Dimitris Michalakis, Business Unit Director, OTE TV

    Moderator: Dr. Constantine Delicostopoulos, EETT Vice President  

  • 16:15–16:30

    Conference Closing


    Conference Venue:
    DAIS Cultural Center

        :: Web Site implemented by EETT IT Department